The Cornbelt Fire Protection District was established in 1953. The founding board of trustees were L.O. Dollahon, Jim Cambell, and Harold Hannah.
The original thirteen charter members pictured in 1954.
1980: Members pictured with the new Engine 50. The department now has approximately twenty members.
The station received an updated face lift in 1985. The district added three bays and office space to the north side in the late 1970’s. Unfortunately, no pictures are available.
Department picture taken in 1985 with new Rescue 51. The department now has approximately thirty members.
With the growing demands of the district the station had a complete remodel and upgrades that were completed in 1990
This picture was taken in 1995 to showcase the addition of E-57 and E-53. E-57 replaced an aging E-50 purchased in 1979 and E-53 replaced an aging 1963 front mount pumper.
1996: Department photo with the new addition of administrative assistant Carleen McCormick and the Paramedics courtesy of Arrow Carle Ambulance as a result of the contractual agreement between Carle Hospital and the Board of Trustees.
The trustees were once again faced with the growing demands of the district and added the latest station addition, completed in 2002. The members now total 55 and a response volume of 620 calls as of 2004.
In October of 2016 The Cornbelt Fire Protection District moved equipment into the newly constructed seven-bay fire apparatus station along Franklin Street that will allow for the continued growth of the department. The addition of this building will also give the department some much needed flexibility for it's daily operations.